Posted by: culturescouse | August 22, 2011

Curtain Up!

Hello and welcome! Pull up a seat, don’t be shy, the show is only just about to begin. Look, you can see the curtain is starting to rise. Oh, just ignore the fidgets of that shy, young(ish) woman on stage. She’s a bit nervous. It’s her first proper blog you see, and she wants to make a good impression. She’ll get started soon. Probably. She had some crazy idea about writing about all the shows and exhibitions she goes to see, mostly in Liverpool, but with a side order of Manchester and London, and now she’s not quite sure what to do. Ah, see, there you go, I think she’s finally thought of something.

So yes. That’s the basic idea of this blog. I’m based in Liverpool but make (too many) frequent trips to Manchester, Salford and London, mostly for the theatre. I love the theatre, and I thought it would be a good idea to write reviews somewhere. That’s not the only thing I plan to do here though. I also love museums and art galleries, so I’ll be writing about them when occasion arises, but I’ll hopefully also be blogging items of interest relating to those areas. I also suspect there will be quite a lot about Liverpool. I adore my city and its architecture and history and it will inevitably sneak in. I hope you will forgive me if that happens.

(In case you’re wondering how the header fits in with this mission statement, that is part of the view from the new Museum of Liverpool, showing the Liver Building and the Cunard Building. The waterfront area of Liverpool is one of my favourite places in the world, and the new museum is a worthy addition.)


Leave a comment

Categories